Kitchenery

Love is a Well-Stocked Pantry

Date and Walnut Loaf March 23, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — kitchenery @ 5:52 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I realized that my last few postings on Facebook were mainly about food. I can’t help it, I need something to occupy me during the day while I await the arrival of the bubba.

I’ve been keeping busy trying to re-organize my load of recipe magazines. Scanning, tagging, filing. However, the more I look through them, the more I find myself wanting to experiment.

I found this recipe this morning and thought I’d give it a go, since I have all the ingredients on hand.

  • 250g pitted dates, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup (250ml) boiling water
  • 90g butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup (165g) caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups (225g) self raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1/2 cup (60g) chopped walnuts, plus 2 tbsp extra for topping
  1. Preheat oven to 180 degree celcius (or 160 fan). Grease and line a 21cm x 11cm loaf pan
  2. Soak dates in water, cover and stand for 5 mins, until dates soften.
  3. Cream melted butter and sugar until well combined. Stir in vanilla and egg.
  4. Sift flour, bicarbonate of soda, mixed spice with a pinch of salt. Fold into date mixture, then fold through walnut.  Spoon mixture into prepared pan and scatter over extra walnut. Bake for 45 mins, until skewer comes out clean.
  5. Cool in pan for 5 mins, then turn out onto wire rack to cool. Slice and serve with butter, if desired.

After the taste test by my husband, this recipe is definitely a keeper!