Kitchenery

Love is a Well-Stocked Pantry

Leek, Potato & Chicken Soup May 26, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — kitchenery @ 6:14 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I used to like chicken soup cooked with onion, potatoes & carrots, just how my mum made it growing up.  But when I was on “confinement”, she cooked a variation that was so good that it whipped her other chicken soup’s ass.

Leek, potatoes & chicken – items that you will always find in my freezer.  Leek is just lovely, especially when it has been sweating in the pan for a while, and it is all sweet and luscious.

Potatoes – who doesn’t love them?

Chicken – Another essential in my freezer.  I like having frozen chicken thighs on hand, as I can use them for soups, stews or stir-fries.

Here’s the recipe for my Leek, Potato & Chicken soup, that whips up in no time at all.

Leek, Potato & Chicken Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 potatoes, cubed into bite sized pieces
  • 3 large chicken thighs, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 large leek, sliced
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1.5 litres boiling water
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Dash of fish sauce

Method

  1. Heat oil in large pot. Add onion and saute for 2 mins. Add in leek. Saute until soft but not browned
  2. Throw in chicken thigh pieces and let it brown a little in the pot.  Add in potatoes & boiling water.
  3. Season with salt & pepper and fish sauce (Yes, you heard me right. Fish sauce gives the soup just a little bit more ooomph!)
  4. Serve hot!
 

Leave a comment