Kitchenery

Love is a Well-Stocked Pantry

Home-made Beancurd June 3, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — kitchenery @ 6:03 pm
Tags: , ,

I first came across this recipe in Flavours magazine a few years ago and have always wanted to try it out.  Before I could, work and baby consumed my life.  And now that I have some time on my hand, I decided to give this a go.  This recipe is part of an entire tofu feature on Flavours magazine – how soy milk is made, with recipes for various tofu dishes.

The recipe in the magazine calls for 1.5 litres of fresh soy milk, but I cut it down to 1 litre.  Also, it would be great if you had a soy milk machine to make your own soy milk.  I contemplated making my own, but just couldn’t be bothered.  I got my fresh soy milk from the wet market, without any sweetener of course.

This tofu is not as flavoursome as the ones that they serve at “sze char” stalls, as I suspect they add seasoning (i.e MSG/stock powder) into the mixture.  You can add seasoning if you plan to serve the tofu on its own with a side of dip.  But you are making up a gravy, just give it a little more seasoning than you normally would, so that the tofu absorbs all that lovely flavour.

Home-made Tofu

Ingredients

  • 1 litre fresh soy milk
  • 10 fresh eggs
  • 100g spinach leaves, shredded

Method

  1. Beat eggs in a large bowl. Add soy milk and mix well.
  2. Pour mixture, through a sieve, into another large bowl, to remove any air bubbles.
  3. Line 2 x 8″ square baking trays.
  4. Pour mixture into baking trays and steam for 30 mins, or until set. (To tell if it is done, there should not be any excess liquid on the top).
  5. Remove from steamer and set aside to cool.
 

Leave a comment